VICTORIA, Kan. – The Southwestern College men's cross country program continued its 2017 campaign with a new addition to the schedule. The Moundbuilders finished seventh at the FHSU Tiger Open, which was hosted by Fort Hays State University at the Sand Plum Nature Trail in Victoria, Kan.

Saturday's Men's 8K Black race was the third of four races to take place on a course that was battered by rain the evening before. In some places on the course, runners were forced to trudge through water puddles, which quickly turned to mud.

Jersey Boydstun was Southwestern's top finisher in the race. The Overland Park, Kan., native finished 28th in the 199-man field with a time of 27:14.3. Freshman Bryce Grahn was next across the line, and finished in 28:04.0, while sophomore Manuel Gonzalez crossed the line in 28:18.7.

Curtis Quarrels and Isaac Blandford rounded out the Southwestern scorecard. Quarrels posted a time of 28:35.3 to finish 88th, while Blandford finished in 29:22.1.

As a team, Southwestern finished seventh in the 16-team event with 197 points. The Moundbuilders, which were the top-finishing NAIA program in the field, finished with a 25-point cushion over eithth-placed McPherson, but finished 48 points behind sixth-placed Highland CC. Allen County CC won the event with 30 points.

Southwestern's next race will take place on its home course. The Moundbuilders will host the annual NAIA Midstates Classic on Oct. 21, 2017, at the Winfield Veterans Home.

FHSU Tiger Open
Southwestern Men's Results
28. Jersey Boydstun (27:14.3)
59. Bryce Grahn (28.04.0)
76. Manuel Gonzalez (28:18.7)
88. Curtis Quarrels (28:35.5)
117. Isaac Blandford (29:22.1)
132. Kyler Newkirk (29:55.6)
143. Jaocb Moyo (30:28.2)
171. Jacob Anders (31:21.3)
180. Will Montgomery (31:47.7)
183. Nick Roark (31:59.4)
190. Trey Winters (33:32.7)
198. Jack Berry (39:22.7)

Team Results
1. Allen County CC (30)
2. Colby CC (79)
3. Cowley CCc (95)
4. Trinidad State (112)
5. Hutchinson CC (144)
6. Highland CC (149)
7. Southwestern (197)
8. McPherson (222)
9. Sterling (224)
10. Friends (283)
11. Dodge City CC (335)
12. Garden City CC (351)
13. Northwestern Oklahoma State (356)
14. Kansas Wesleyan (363)
15. Bethany (365)
16. Pratt CC (406)