VICTORIA, Kan. – The Southwestern College women's cross country program continued its 2017 season with a new addition to the schedule. Junior Justine Vogele's seventh-place finish helped lead the Lady Builders to a fourth place team finish at the FHSU Tiger Open, which was hosted by Fort Hays State University at the Sand Plum Nature Trail in Victoria, Kan.

Saturday's Women's 5K Black race was the first of four races to take place on a course that was battered by rain the evening before. In some places on the course, runners were forced to trudge through water puddles, which quickly turned to mud. Even with the soggy course conditions, junior Justine Vogele was able to run her way to a seventh-place finish. The Dexter, Kan., native finished the 5k circuit in 19:38.0. Bailey Walser and Kari Blattner were next across for the Lady Builders. Walser checked in at 20:00.3 for an 11th-placed finish, while Blattner was 14th in 20:03.6.

Erin Floyd and Ashley Smith rounded out the Southwestern scorecard, and crossed the line at nearly the exact same time. Floyd was given a 47th-place finish, while Smith finished 48th, both with a time of 20:57.2.

Sophomore Tierney Sutton (21:38.5) and freshman Tavia Hart (23:18.5) also competed in the race.

As a team, Southwestern finished fourth in the 15-team event with 119 points. The Lady Builders edged out fifth-placed Trinidad State by one point, but finished 25 points behind third-placed Friends. Colby CCc won the event with 79 points.

Southwestern's next race will take place on its home course. The Lady Builders will host the annual NAIA Midstates Classic on Oct. 21, 2017, at the Winfield Veterans Home.

FHSU Tiger Open
Southwestern Women's Results
7. Justine Vogele (19:38.0)
11. Bailey Walser (20:00.3)
14. Kari Blattner (20:03.6)
47. Erin Floyd (20:57.2)
48. Ashley Smith (20:57.2)
75. Tierney Sutton (21:38.5)
129. Tavia Hart (23:18.5)

Team Results
1. Colby CC (79)
2. Saint Mary (92)
3. Friends (94)
4. Southwestern (119)
5. Trinidad State JC (120)
6. Hutchinson CC (137)
7. Cowley CC (150)
8. Highland CC (241)
9. Dodge City CC (249)
10. Sterling (267)
11. Garden City CC (304)
12. Northwestern Oklahoma State (335)
13. Barton County CC (335)
14. Pratt CC (359)
15. McPherson (393)