WINFIELD, Kan. – The Southwestern College women's tennis team put itself in position to claim a berth in next week's Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Women's Tennis Championship with a win over Bethel College Saturday morning. The Lady Builders defeated the Threshers, 9-0, at the T.H. Vaughan Tennis Center in Winfield.

Southwestern (13-4, 5-1 KCAC) held off a pair of Thresher upset bids in doubles play. Both the No. 1 (Sydney Shields/Olivia Medaris) and the No. 2 (Morgan Hughes/Anna Mankoski) squads held on for 9-7 victories over their Bethel (5-6, 4-2 KCAC) counterparts, while Sadie Pfau and Savannah Caro cruised past the Threshers for an 8-2 victory on the No. 3 court. The doubles sweep gave Southwestern a 3-0 lead in the tam dual.

Bethel was no contest for the Lady Builders in singles play. Southwestern won all six courts in straight-set fashion. Hughes defeated Kim Buzbee on the No. 1 court, (6-2, 6-2), while Shields downed Serena Wong at No. 2 (6-3, 6-1). The No. 3 court belonged to Medaris, who cruised past Jennifer Harrison (6-0, 6-4), while Mankoski dispatched Breanne Rogers at No. 4, 6-0, 6-2. Bethel won just one game between the No. 5 and No. 6 singles courts. Abbi Groff ousted Mallory Meier, 6-1, 6-0, on the No. 5 court, while Jerlecia Thompson blanked Julie Baker at No. 6, 6-0, 6-0.

Saturday's sweep of the Threshers moves Southwestern to 13-4 on the season, and 5-1 in KCAC play. The Lady Builders will return to action Wednesday, hosting the Falcons of Friends University. First serve is scheduled for 3 p.m. at the T.H. Vaughan Tennis Center.

Southwestern 9, Bethel (Kan.) 0
Singles competition

1. Morgan Hughes (SWC) def. Kimberly Buzbee (BTHL) 6-2, 6-2
2. Sydney Shields (SWC) def. Serena Wong (BTHL) 6-3, 6-1
3. Olivia Medaris (SWC) def. Jennifer Harrison (BTHL) 6-0, 6-4
4. Anna Mankoski (SWC) def. Breanne Rogers (BTHL) 6-0, 6-2
5. Abbi Groff (SWC) def. Mallory Meier (BTHL) 6-1, 6-0
6. Jerlecia Thompson (SWC) def. Julie Baker (BTHL) 6-0, 6-0

Doubles competition
1. Sydney Shields/Olivia Medaris (SWC) def. Kimberly Buzbee/Jennifer Harrison (BTHL) 9-7
2. Morgan Hughes/Anna Mankoski (SWC) def. Breanne Rogers/Mallory Meier (BTHL) 9-7
3. Sadie Pfau/Savannah Caro (SWC) def. Serena Wong/Julie Baker (BTHL) 8-2